knitting with fat crayons.

That’s what it feels like I’m doing with these size 15 circular bamboo needles. Can’t say this is a great feeling, since I can’t even draw with fat crayons, let alone knit with them.

I am making the scarf for the likes-pink-even-more-than-Barbie-does friend. It’s the Purl Scarf from Last Minute Knitted Gifts by Joelle Hoverson. It’s a beautiful scarf in the book; it looks exquisite draped around the model’s neck and hanging to the floor as she crouches over, reading (by the way, I know it’s just a model pose – but really? Who reads sitting that way? Hobbits, that’s who…) If I can a) actually get to the yarn shop that’s closer to home today and b) if they have pink mohair, I will frog what I’ve gotten done and begin again – nothing to cry over, just a couple of inches, and I’m not thrilled with the way it’s looking. It needs something. Like mohair, which is one of the yarns the pattern calls for, but which I opted not to use since I couldn’t find it in the right shade last night. You can use whatever you want for this scarf, but knitted up with two strands of Debbie Bliss merino dk and one strand of kidsilk haze, it’s okay, but nothing spectacular, and certainly not as lovely as in the picture. Mostly, I think, because the kidsilk just kind of disappears and looks like a thread running intermittently through the scarf. Kind of like cotton candy with string…

This entry was published on December 18, 2005 at 8:15 pm and is filed under Knitting. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “knitting with fat crayons.

  1. choomon on said:

    Well, Fanciwerks is closed Mondays, so don’t waste a trip there today. Let me think on it a little, and post to your thread.

Leave a Reply

