my first FO!


I finished the Neverending Scarf last night – I was going to say *finally* finished, but when I think about it, it didn’t really take me that long. It definitely took me longer than the time listed in LMKG, but I managed to do it over the course of 5 days, which, tedious though it seemed at times, isn’t all that bad.

So, here it is, in its 104-inches-not-including-fringe glory. It is so ginormous – but I like it that way. Wrapped once around my neck, it hangs to my ankles; wrapped twice is a little better – and very warm and cozy. I know it’s nothing spectacular – just a rib stitch scarf, after all, and not at all fancy or difficult -but it’s my first finished object! So there. I have to say that once it was done, I absolutely loved it and was almost sorry to have to give it away. The colors came together beautifully. I might have to make one for myself in brown sometime, once I have done some of the other projects for which I’ve already bought yarn (Interesting that the straight needles were so much easier to use than the circular ones for this pattern – see knitting with fat crayons post below – I wonder why that is?).

I gave it to my mother-in-law last night, who came over because she had left her jacket in our car and she needs it for her upcoming weekend in Vegas (lucky). Her reaction exceeded my hopes – she was SO excited! – and I was excited that she was so thrilled with it. This knitted gift giving thing ain’t half bad… and after Christmas isn’t so bad either, because it was all the more unexpected.

I still have a couple more gifts to finish – the airy scarf for my pink friend (which started out as the Neverending Scarf, but that wasn’t working out with the yarns I’d picked) and the equally neverending Harry Potter Scarf. Today, though, I think I’m taking a knitting break. Feeling a bit under the weather… hot chocolate and a book by the fire sound good about now.

This entry was published on December 29, 2005 at 8:44 pm and is filed under Finished Objects, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “my first FO!

  1. WHat a fabulous scarf. Nicw job – I’m working on a celadon one for myself πŸ™‚

    WOOP!

    TTYL,
    Anne/roxy

  2. choomon on said:

    nice job! and congrat on your very firt FO πŸ™‚

  3. frog happens on said:

    Thanks very much, ladies! πŸ™‚

    Anne/roxy – isn’t that celadon GORGEOUS? I love the way it looks in the book. Are you going to make it the full length? Hope you enjoy it once it’s done.

  4. I love your scarf, so pretty, your mil is one lucky lady. I want to make one of these for myself one day.

  5. frog happens on said:

    Thanks, areli! Yes, do make one – I want one for me, too! It’s a WARM one.

Leave a Reply

