It’s a girl!


Of course it is. Last time, I really wanted a girl, and so I had a boy. Which turned out to be exactly what I didn’t know I really wanted, because he is great and sweet and adorable and perfect in every way. This time, I thought that the only thing better than a boy would be TWO of them… but I had a feeling that the same rule of opposites would be in effect, and sure enough, as we found out yesterday, I am at least right about the existence of said rule. Girl. I know I won’t be sorry for a second. I have no idea where I read it, but somewhere, someone said that we get what we need, not what we want. Oprah, maybe? I don’t know, but it’s looking pretty true to me.

So, now, of course, the name already settled… the question is: what color Blue Sky Cotton do I want to use to make this Argosy blanket for the new one? I am so torn. Anyone, feel free to step in anytime and make the decision for me. I am pretty sure I want to do the optional-but-cute embroidered flowers in a contrasting color. Tulip with shrimp flowers, or the other way around? Honeydew with shrimp flowers? Shell with shrimp flowers? Noticing a trend in medium pink flowers, but I am otherwise indecisive.

Though, I am, as always, jumping the gun, because I did settle on something new to make my little boy first: the Mitered Square Blanket in Mason-Dixon Knitting. I ignored this pattern until now, thinking that it was way too many colors (which meant way too much $$) and way too much work… and then I saw all the fun Cara is having, and resistance became futile. I just happened to have two skeins of Tahki Cotton Classic that I had bought for an iPod cozy and then later decided I didn’t need… and so I tried out a square to see if I could handle making EIGHTY of them (or maybe only forty; I might just make it half the size since my little one is, well, half the size):
The colors in this picture aren’t exactly right; it’s navy blue and light blue, not black and slightly green as it looks here. I love it. Now I’m just waiting for more yarn in the mail so that I can make more. I was originally planning on flying by the seat of my pants in terms of colors, and just putting together fun combinations that I thought my son would like. I thought that maybe I would never repeat the same colors twice, no logic involved… easy (my mother doesn’t like this idea and thinks that I should make the whole thing in shades of blue so that my son will not later want to hide it in a closet and think it too embarrassing to put on his bed when he goes to college. My argument is that it’s a BABY blanket – well, toddler blanket – and it should be fun and colorful. I won’t mind if he doesn’t want it on display when he’s eighteen; it will probably be pretty shabby by then, and … did I mention, it’s a BABY blanket? Not a college blanket. That one will be in every hideous shade of puce I can find, to chase girls away. ha).

Now, however, I think I might have a PLAN. A plan stolen adapted from Cara’s work. Each block of four miters should have a dominant color, and four different background colors. Half of the blocks should have a bright / dark / bold dominant color (A) with a soft / light contrasting color (B), and the other half of the blocks should be the reverse of this scheme. If this doesn’t work out, I will go back to racking up the frequent flyer miles on my pants.

This entry was published on March 31, 2007 at 6:03 pm and is filed under Kids, Knitting, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “It’s a girl!

  1. Kristina on said:

    I have just started a mitered square blanket as well from Mason Dixon. I think Cara has started something here. But a king size blanket?! I’ll be lucky if I make a me sized blanket!! Good luck!

  2. Congrats on the girl! How far along are you? I’m 23 weeks tomorrow with a mystery baby 😉

    I’m currently knitting Speck (the fetus) a BRIGHT apple green blanket and just finished a white kimono from MD. One of these years I’ll get to be a mitering fool, like you!

  3. Kristina – ditto for me on the king size. No way! There’s still a 1/3 completed blanket crocheted from bad acrylic yarn (before I knew better, heh) hiding under my bed – my dirty little secret. I don’t think I’ll ever finish, and THAT was supposed to be queen size.
    Tina – thanks! I am 18 weeks along. How exciting, a mystery baby… I thought about doing that for my second one, but I can’t keep a secret. Even from myself. heh Isn’t the MD kimono the cutest? Fun to make, too.

  4. Cheryl on said:

    A GIRL!!! Yea!! Congratulations, I’m so excited, I can’t wait! For the record, I was certain that my first was a boy, my second and third were definitely girls. I was 0 for 3, but I wouldn’t change a thing:-) Knit like the wind, baby, and I’ll talk to you soon-
    Hugs-
    Cheryl

  5. Cara on said:

    Congratulations! Hope you’re feeling well.

Leave a Reply

