An Answery Sort of Post

I FINALLY got my Cotton Classic in today’s mail for my son’s Mitered Squares Blanket, and while I’m excited and want to take pictures and get started on more squares, tonight I’m tired and just want to respond to a few comments:

1. Thank you for the congratulatory comments on my pregnancy. I have been feeling fine. So fine, that for the first month or so, I was in Denial (it’s not just a river in Egypt…) about even being pregnant – the only symptoms I had were occasional bouts of tiredness or feelings of “icky” in general, and bleeding gums. This last was the only one that really made me suspect anything, because I have healthy gums. The only time I’ve ever had a bleeding problem was when I was pregnant with my son, so the return of that problem made me wonder. And quite the problem it is – I really bleed gush, just between my upper two front teeth, if I bite on something that rubs against my gums, or if I brush my teeth… hell, sometimes just from talking too much. My students found it pretty disconcerting the first couple of times it happened. Now, it’s fun to watch (YES!! She’s bleeding again! I’ve got $2 on 5 minutes, minimum). I have to apply pressure for a good two minutes to get it to stop, which is so freaking awesome when I’m trying to run out the door to work and get in the car with two fingers shoved in my mouth, attempting to avoid bloodstains down the front of my shirt in the process.

Now that I’m in the second trimester, I’m still in need of a tooth tourniquet and I’m still tired, and I’ve added a third symptom that I didn’t have so much the first time around: sudden cravings. Thankfully, it’s never anything in the vein of a midnight snack or something I’d be embarrassed to admit to eating; it’s just sudden, surprising, “oh, I want this. Now.” It’s always something sweet, usually fruit or some aberration of it. Okay, who am I kidding… chocolate, too. Today it was Starburst candy. I put away a good 20 of them without even realizing I had. Need to watch that… otherwise, I might as well save myself the trouble and just staple them to my ass in advance (yes, I know I can eat whatever I want, but still.).

2. Leslie (hi, Leslie!) asked me if I have any tips or tricks about the Clapotis. First of all – seriously? You are working on that which terrifies me – entrelac!! – girl, you can handle Clapotis. Trust me. 🙂 So far, not much for tips – and that’s a good thing, because a lot of the time my advice seems to arise from misfortune. I will say that I wish I had held out for straight needles because I just don’t enjoy dragging yarn across the join on my bamboo circs – but I was antsy to start that very night, and couldn’t wait to buy straight ones. Also, make sure you have good stitch markers, and not the cheapos with the point on the end (the hard plastic ones that open) – I had to start over a few times because of those slippery little suckers, which somehow make an art of not staying quite where they are supposed to be. Gee, it’s like being at work with students… The markers don’t need to be fancy (although I opted for fancy because I’m a girl and a pregnant one at that, and my whims are therefore justified a priori ) – anything would be better than those plastic craptastic pieces of crappy crap. Otherwise, it’s been an easy pattern. Oh, one more little thing: if you have to ladder down a few rows to fix some stitches (see, I did still manage to eff up a little bit – somehow purled on the knit side), make sure that when you ladder back up, you don’t forget to retwist those twisted stitches. That’s all I’ve got for now. If tragedy strikes, stay tuned for more…

3. Laura, whose cat sweater is genius, asked about the soap sweater: what happens as the soap gets smaller, and what happens when the soap is gone? According to the information on the pattern page, the sweater is supposed to felt from all the hot water and scrubbing action, and thus shrink around the soap. As for when the soap is gone, someone left a comment on that page suggesting that if well rinsed, the sweater can be used as a cat toy; I can’t remember where, but I read somewhere else that it could also be used as a little shower scrubbie (or to clean around the house with?). It’s such a quick knit that even if it ends up being thrown away, I think it is worth the trouble.

I have been using the soap sweater for the last three days or so, and while it works well, one thing that I (stupidly) hadn’t anticipated was the smell of wet wool. I am not sure if that ever subsides, but be aware – it’s definitely present and unmistakable. I’m still trying to decide whether I come out of the shower smelling clean or like a prima donna sheep…

This entry was published on April 10, 2007 at 3:44 am and is filed under Knitting, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “An Answery Sort of Post

  1. a blossom knits on said:

    Hi Vanessa!! *wave* Thanks for all of those ‘non-tips’ you had there . . even though everything you said will help out greatly.

    As for the entrelac . . yes, it is something to fear – in the beginning. But once you get it, it’s a piece of pie . . slice of cake. Fortunately, I had Barbara Kerr teaching me. 😉

  2. Designated Knitter on said:

    Hi – I followed a link back here after you posted about knitting a soap sweater using my pattern!
    Congratulations on your pregnancy! I hope that you have a healthly and happy time.
    As to what to do with the sweater when the soap is gone – it’s funny, that never occurred to me when I started it, but it’s the question I get asked the most. Like you, as quickly as it knits up, it doesn’t matter much to me, and it uses up scraps that would otherwise be piling up in my stash box.
    But I’m curious about the smell of wet wool. The one on my sink is made from Lambs Pride – I haven’t noticed any smell. I’ve made some out of Cascade 220 as gifts, but I would have worried more about the Lamb’s Pride than the Cascade.
    Of course it could just be that I’m not very sensitive to smells or something, but I’ll be curious to know if you find out that it persists or not. I hope that the ones I’ve given away aren’t stinking up my friend’s bathrooms and they’re just too polite to tell me!
    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

