FOs for D!rty Girls

Just washcloths, I promise! hehe Here are the two aforementioned little projects I finished, both for the Get Stitchy April Showers KAL. I don’t know what it is about these colors, but while I love them in person, they are soooo not photogenic, so just imagine that they’re prettier (well, because they are).

1. Reverse Bloom Flower Washcloth from Melanie Falick’s Weekend Knitting


Yarn: Crystal Palace Yarns Cotton Chenille #6752 / Blush
Needles: Addi Turbo US6 circular 16″ and Crystal Palace bamboo DPNs, US6, 8 inch

This is such a pretty, pale pink, warm blushy color. It’s for the bun, and I have another skein in a minty green for a second one for her as well. I figured, it’s cotton, it’s soft and squishy… what baby wouldn’t like that in the bath? I think I will have to make a cloth or two from this for my little boy, too, because every time he gets his hands on it he oooohs as he rubs it on his face.

Someone on the Get Stitchy message board had mentioned that she had made a couple of these and while the finished product was nice, she didn’t enjoy making them because the cotton chenille yarn has absolutely no elasticity to it, so it was hard on her hands. I didn’t have this problem, and I think it might be because of the loverly Addi Turbo needle I used until just about the very end of the project. This is the first time I’ve used one, and I am hooked. I wish I could replace all my other circulars with these!

The washcloth is made from the outside in, so you make the petals first, and then join them together and work the inside. You can either make each petal separately on DPNs or use the circular and let the finished ones hang out until you’re ready to put them all together. If you use the circular, you don’t need such long DPNs, which the pattern doesn’t tell you – I got 8″ ones because it recommended them, but if you’re mostly working with the circular needle and only use the DPNs for the inside, the length is a bit annoying.

2. Mason-Dixon Knitting Ballband Dishcloth


Yarn: Sugar ‘n Cream cotton
Needles: Aluminum Boye US 7

The yellow is not the ugly vitamin pee color it is in the picture – it’s much more cheerful in person. Not much else to say about this one that hasn’t already been said by the other two million knitters who have made it… I bought a ton of this yarn last summer for these dishcloths, but this is only the second one of them I’ve made. I tried washing dishes with the first one, but I guess I’m a sponge girl at heart, so my enthusiasm kind of dried up pretty quickly. However, it works better than wet paper towels for the little guy’s face-and-hands clean up after eating, and he seems to prefer it to paper anyway, so that’s most likely what this one will be used for. I might also make a special one just for him to dry his hands on, because he is really into washing his hands lately.

Next post, my attempt at yarn p0rn pictures. I have gotten some very squishy pretties in the mail this week! 🙂

This entry was published on May 12, 2007 at 2:57 pm and is filed under Finished Objects, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “FOs for D!rty Girls

  1. OfTroy on said:

    self promoting here..
    come visit my blog, learn double knitting, and make some potholders to match (you can even make floor mats–mine are bathmats, but they could be kitchen mats, (i don’t use kitchen mats)

    but potholders are great out of kitchen cotton..

  2. jeffner77 on said:

    I find washcloths inspiring, since they are one of my most requested gifts! Congrats on the little one to be.

Leave a Reply

