Enter crickets, stage left: Chirp. Chirp.

Despite my best intentions, it seems that I inevitably have lapses into quiet with this blog. Tonight I thought that perhaps a quick post of “yes, still here” might be in order? Here’s what’s been going on…

1. Biting my virtual tongue

We have friends – my husband’s close friends – who just got married this weekend. I will politely refrain from saying anything more than this: it recently required a lot of our free time. I felt like I had a hangover the day after it was finally all over with.

2. Pregnancy: 32.5 weeks and counting

Still tired. Still lack energy. Still a blimpotamus. ‘Nuff said.

3. Summer of Sock, 2007

No, that’s not a typo. I did mean sock, because I think that at the rate I’m going, I will only finish one sock by the end of the summer. I haven’t done much knitting in the last week and a half, and here I’m supposed to be challenging myself to knit as many socks as I can, whittle down the stash and all that. Distractions have included items #1 and #2 on this list, reading (A Trip to the Stars and A Thousand Splendid Suns), and trying to clean / organize this place before Baby Girl arrives and any time I have to do these things vanishes. (Did you see Oprah today? My house doesn’t look like that, but the closets could use some work and weeding out, and we do have a “junk” room that needs to become a bedroom for our son instead.)

4. Yes, I bought more yarn.

I was bad recently – sort of: most of it is for baby projects and lace knitting (which I’ve never done, but yet I am suddenly obsessed with laceweight yarn), and not for more socks. But no more! I ran out of storage room today, and as I saw it, I had two choices: A) find more storage space, or B) stop buying the stuff already. I know it borders on sacrilege, but I chose option A. My stash is nothing in comparison to pictures of others’ hordes that I’ve seen on the internet, but that doesn’t really make me feel any better about it. I don’t need to have all of this; it’s a hobby, and having even this much in my stash is starting to make me feel pressured, like I have all this knitting to do – and this is supposed to be fun. So. I’m going to try to stop buying yarn in any category until I’ve used up or otherwise disposed of (sold, traded, eaten – whatever) the stashed yarn in said category, and then, I want to maintain a level of only two or three projects’ worth of yarn in the category (don’t think I can’t hear you laughing!). In simpler terms, no more baby project yarn until I’ve used up the yarn I’ve already bought for baby projects. No more sock yarn until I’ve used up my sock yarn stash (which means I won’t get to buy any more sock yarn until I’m 83). My goal is to get the stash to fit into the two bins that used to contain it – right now I’ve got about twice that, and the overflow is being contained in two large beach bags (except now those are overflowing, too). Exceptions: buying yarn for (adult) gift recipients as needed, and one small co-op purchase that I’d already planned on later this month. Any other purchases I am tempted to make will need to be cleared with my husband first (since he knows the size of my stash and made no effort to hide his dismay when packages came in the mail today, this is a pretty good safeguard against further purchases, I think).

So, that’s it. Off to bed for me – perhaps the WIP pictures for the next post, since I am too tired to bother with uploading them to Blogger tonight.

This entry was published on July 10, 2007 at 5:23 am and is filed under General (In)sanity, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Enter crickets, stage left: Chirp. Chirp.

  1. knitathome on said:

    When I was that pregnant I pretty much gave up knitting. You can’t sit long, stand long or even concentrate long! My son is 6 months and I am still counting my projects on only one hand. If he would just nap, I could knit…. 🙂

  2. LadyBills on said:

    Ah, stash. I try to buy for projects WHEN I have time to do them. I’m one of the crazy knitters who can resist yarn. Why? Because I’m a student and I just got married. I’m broke. heh. Good luck with using your yarn, latch onto whatever guides you!

Leave a Reply

