Disneyland

I know I’ve had a hard last few days when the promise of a couple of hours with no kids to deal with feels like a long anticipated trip to an amusement park when I was a child. Make no mistake – of course I love my children – but I also love not feeling the need to seek out the nearest dark corner of the house and roll up into a fetal position. When my baby is screaming to rival Steven Tyler and my son is making an art of Ways to Annoy Mom At the Worst Possible Moment, it’s all I can do not to join the general meltdown myself. But, no, I can’t. I’m the adult, and so I have to be patient. Loving. Understanding. Even if it means my teeth break in the act of clenching them against the urge to let out a God-awful shriek of despair that would probably sound like a hyena being whipped but would ultimately mean that “I’VE HAD ENOUGH OF THIS &^$&%#%*@*!!!!!”

Seriously. Any amount of time to myself feels like Disneyland. Even though, I repeat, I love my little darlings. So, when my husband finally bothered to come home tonight after gallivanting about town without a care in the world or children clamoring for his attention (oh, I’m not bitter or jealous at all, and the fact that I agreed to his excursion is completely irrelevant), I said, “See you in two hours.” He didn’t protest (lucky for him), and I slinked off to do nothing. Which, in my case, means that I briefly considered some neglected housework before knitting a bit more on Riley’s Tulip Cardigan (I’m done with the back and am working on the border! YAY!) and then getting lost in some of my favorite internet haunts, jumping from one blog or online shop to another, while listening to my new Reba Duets CD for the first time, which just came in today’s mail. Now, there’s an album I’m going to listen to eleventy-billion times – it’s not often that I like one so well at the first listen, and this one is just gorgeous. Maybe I’m wrong, but I don’t think you have to be a country-music aficionado to appreciate it, either, because I’m not much of one, but I love this. I wish I could put the video for “Because Of You” on the blog, but since I can’t, you’ll have to click over there yourself – go have a listen while I keep playing in the, um, Magic Kingdom.

This entry was published on September 30, 2007 at 1:41 am and is filed under General (In)sanity, Kids. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Disneyland

  1. Sanity requires a bit of solitary time, no question about it. Especially when that means a bit of knitting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

