the state of affairs

See, I was going to write a quick post about where I’ve been, what I’ve been doing, etc., and next thing I know I’ve got 15 pictures I want to post and an hour’s worth of writing behind them. So I am going to try to refrain, and save them for another day other days. Shorter posts, woman! I don’t have an hour, which is why I haven’t been saying anything!

Where I’ve been has a name, and it’s, oh, the fifth circle of hell, perhaps: After-Sub Fallout. My maternity leave came to an end and I had to go back to work, and the mess the sub left was in-cred-i-ble. It was weeks’ worth of cleanup, with help from my own two TAs and others that a friend so kindly lent me. Sparing the details, suffice it to say that it was the closest thing to a jungle made entirely of paper that I’ll probably ever see, and the sub had apparently thrown his hands up and let everything go towards the end of my leave. I heard from kids and other teachers that his teaching style became a five-minute jaunt to the front of the class where he’d write up my plans on the board, take attendance, and then command the students to “do it” before he sat down and occupied himself with other things. On the bright side – there has to be one! – it’s over, things are now more or less settled, and I really like my kids. All seniors this year, and happy to finally have their “real” teacher. They told me so. 😉

Aaack – there goes my time. The baby wakes from her morning nap much sooner than expected! Before her whimpering becomes a full-blown siren, here’s a Thanksgiving dumpling picture.

dumpling

This entry was published on November 24, 2007 at 12:12 pm and is filed under General (In)sanity, Kids. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

