Seeing red.

What’s red? Well…

1. This:

bucket hat back


Pattern: A Better Bucket by Amy Swenson (direct link to PDF file here)
Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted in Burgundy, one skein
Needles: Knitpicks Options size US 8

Not much to say about this one – I was in the mood for a quickie. It was Malabrigo March. I thought the hat was cute, so I decided to join a Buckethead KAL on Ravelry. It’s a great hat, if a little big; next time (there may be a next time: it’s a great pattern!), I might do something shocking and unexpected like try it on as I go. My husband says it’s fine… he says he likes everything I make, though, so that’s no help. I’m sure I will wear it, especially when I want to be all incognito (because that happens all the time. I’m a superspy, didn’t you know?) – this is the oversized hat to do it in!

The brim is fabulous (you believed me when I said I didn’t have much to say? Aren’t you gullible, Reader!) – it’s got this really cool construction so that it’s double-layered. Which means that the cast-on is a bit fiddly – but it’s worth it. Trust me. It also means that the brim has a really nice quality – not really stiff, but definitely not floppy, either – (Ah, the double entendres are all over the place!). The hat itself is so warm and cozy; if it wasn’t for the unfortunate timing of the project (late March in my parts isn’t particularly cold), I’m sure I would have worn it several times by now. No matter – it’s all ready to go for next winter!

2. What else is red? Ummm, meat cooked rare, or in my case, very rare (No, I’m not really implying that I am meat. This one is such a stretch, but points for effort in trying to work it in?). ‘Scuse the formatting from this point on – sometimes I really hate WordPress.


Your Personality is Very Rare (INFP)


Your personality type is dreamy, romantic, elegant, and expressive.

Only about 5% of all people have your personality, including 6% of all women and 4% of all men

You are Introverted, Intuitive, Feeling, and Perceiving.

How Rare Is Your Personality?
Interesting little quiz, grabbed the idea from Dee’s blog. It’s surprisingly accurate for something that takes less than five minutes!
3. One more something red: my eyes. I’m tired! I actually have another couple of red knitted items to show you, but I’m going to save them for next time and go to bed instead. Oh, who am I kidding – I’ll go to bed, but I’ll read just one more page of Twilight until I’ve read 50 “one more pages” and it’s a bit later than this. I wasn’t sure it would be my cuppa, but I am so hooked. If you haven’t yet, youhavetoreadit. Have to!
This entry was published on June 18, 2008 at 11:38 pm. It’s filed under Books, Finished Objects, General (In)sanity, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Seeing red.

  1. A most excellent hat! It looks great on you too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

