BTT: Autumn Reading

In a rare turn of events, I actually remembered the Booking Through Thursday meme while it’s still actually Thursday. Today’s question:

Autumn is starting (here in the US, anyway), and kids are heading back to school–does the changing season change your reading habits? Less time? More? Are you just in the mood for different kinds of books than you were over the summer?

Yes. The start of the school year means that I go back to work, so I have less time to read. My interests shift, as well. Since my time is limited, I am more likely to go for something entertaining and less challenging than the books I might comfortably tackle in the summer. This works with the stressful start of the year – it’s like comfort food. The books I mentioned in the previous post are an example; next, I’ll probably read P.S. I Love You, which is on loan from a good friend who has been enabling my recent “chick lit” reading habits.

As the season progresses, I might also turn to more of Louise Penny’s mysteries. I read and enjoyed Still Life and have the next two titles in this cozy mystery series already lined up on my shelves, but for some reason, these books seem to call for cooler weather. I couldn’t imagine reading them in the heat of summer. If these books are anything like the first, I’m anticipating curling up on the couch snuggled under a blanket and holding a hot cup of tea in the other hand.

Another type of book I tend to want to cozy up to as the weather cools is classics. Sometimes I feel like I want to try something I haven’t read before by an author whose other works I’ve loved – I might read Dickens’ A Christmas Carol or David Copperfield, for example – but other times I feel like I might just want to read Wuthering Heights for a fourth time, or read Pride and Prejudice for what would probably not be the last time. Or try Jane Eyre again, which I’ve tried a couple of times but not been able to get into. I haven’t read The Good Earth since I was a sophomore in high school, but I loved it then and would like to revisit it. Even some of the short stories I read in college would be fun – I’ve been thinking of Melville’s “Bartleby the Scrivener” and Hawthorne’s “Rappaccini’s Daughter.”

This entry was published on September 18, 2008 at 10:41 pm. It’s filed under Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

